#TheRecap: Flagler Wins Ocoee Title

Flagler wrestlers and coaches celebrate a title won Saturday at the Ocoee Mat Classic (Photo submitted by Zach Sanford via Facebook).

North Florida Matmen staff report

OCOEE — In the final regular-season tuneup for all teams prior to this week’s district competition, it was Flagler Palm Coast that would add one more regular-season trophy to a season filled with hardware moments.

The Bulldogs, with five individual titles, easily outdistanced a 14-team field to win the Ocoee Mat Classic this weekend, with 197 points to runnerup Citrus’ 140.5.

Colonial (140), Evans (122) and Gateway (121.5) rounded out the top five teams.

A summary of this tournament follows, with FPC performances noted:

106 — Satellite’s Alexander McMiller (14th-1A) had two decisions for his title, with a 9-3 win in the final over Colonial’s Tyreque Pringle (pin prior to final). FPC’s Kole Hannant was third. After taking a 15-9 loss to McMiller in the semis, Hannant falled Winter Park’s Max Spillman (:40) and Wekiva’s Maurice Beasley (1:59) for his third.

113 — The Bulldogs’ Joseph Rizzo (20th-3A) pinned his way through the bracket, with two first-period falls over the hosts’ Nathan Ramirez (1:28, semis) and Lake Nona’s Michael Prado (:40, championship).

120 — After wild decisions in the quuarters and semis, Flagler’s John Hald took home the title with a pin in the finals over Citrus’ Kaden King (3:41). Hald had preliminary wins over Wekiva’s Demarion Hicks (1:10, pigtail), Winter Park’s John Henderson (19-12, quarters) and Evans’ Dionysos Dix (17-16, semis).

126 — Gateway’s Marquell Mitchell had a major and pin prior to the final, where he falled FPC’s Brendan Buckles in 2:36 for the weight-class win. Buckles pinned Lake Nona’s Matthew O’Gara (1:13) and pushed past Colonial’s Dominique Pringle, 12-7, in the semi.

132 — Citrus’ Kobe Rosario (14th-1A at 126) pinned his way through the bracket, with three falls in all, the last in the final over Dr Phillips’ Eric Zayas (:49). No Flagler wrestlers in the weight class.

138 — Evans’ Jagdesh Persaud bonus-pointed through the tournament, with a major decision followed by three pins, the last of those in the final over Satellite’s Kyle Grant. No Flagler wrestlers in the weight class.

145 — The Bulldogs’ Blane DeFord (10th-3A at 152), after a bye into the quarters, also bonus-pointed through all rounds of the tournament for his weight-class win. After falling Windermere’s Jeryl Lewis (3:07, quarters) and Vero Beach’s Cooper Patton (1:45, semis), DeFord majored Citrus’ Logan Simpson, 12-3, for the title.

152 — FPC’s Timothy King made it back-to-back titles with a bonus-poing through the tournament, with preliminary pins over Ocoee’s Eric Gilreath (2:45, quarters), Winter Park’s Dennis Almon (:30, semis) and a 15-4 major over Windermere’s Kurt Vollenweider in the championship match.

160 — Evans’ Iverson Monde took the bracket with with two pins and a 7-4 win in the final over Satellite’s Caleb Griffith. The Bulldogs’ Marcelo Gonzalez was third, with front-side pins over Winter Park’s Skyler Winchester (:40) and Donovan Walsh-Speele (3:15); after a semifinal loss by fall to Griffith (5:30), Gonzalez pinned Evans’ Jacob Olnick (:26) in the consi semi and Lake Nona’s Phillip Castanon (3 minutes) for third.

170 — Gateway’s Philip Bangura bookended a 14-7 semifinal win with pins, the second of those over Satellite’s Michael McCarthy in the final. Flagler’s Garrick Schwartz was fifth. After a 3-1 loss to Colonial’s Jalen Mathis in a pigtail match, Schwartz had consi-side wins over Vero Beach’s Zad Villalpando (4-3) and Evans’ Michley Andrezil (3:41) before losing by fall to Mathis (4:27) in the consi semis. Schwartz then won by forfeit for fifth.

182 — Citrus’ Blake Coleman (5th-1A) bonus-pointed through the tournament, with two pins and a major, the second pin in 5:39 over Vero Beach’s Keyshawn Campbell in the final. No Flagler wrestlers in the weight class.

195 — The hosts’ Kelton Law won twice for his title, with a pin and 10-6 win in the final over Vero Beach’s Bakari Mosley. No Flagler wrestlers in the weight class.

220 — Dr Phillips’ Gerald Greaves had two decisions to get to the final, where he pinned Colonial’s Nathaniel Gayle in 1:17 for the title. The Bulldogs’ Seth Davis was third. After a quarterfinal loss to Greaves, 11-7, Davis falled West Orange’s Victor Sanchez (3:06) and took a 4-2 decision in the third-place match over Gateway’s Nathan Yambor.

285 — FPC’s AJ Cinelli (5th-3A) won three times for his title, with a quarterfinal pin over Colonial’s Eric Paulino-Risk (1:42), followed by decisions over the hosts’ Jordan Phillips (18th-3A), 8-2, in the semis and over Gateway’s Kyjuan Allen (13th-2A), 1-0, in the title match.

Complete brackets from this tournament can be found HERE

JOIN us on Facebook at North Florida Matmen (you can also friend me on my personal page) or on Twitter at @NorthFLAMatmen.

The season is done and champions are crowned in eight classes in Georgia! We have 8 stories up from Saturday’s finals on our affiliated site at

Please support our independent journalism!

We’re on Venmo now: Shannon-Heaton-6
Or you can use our existing site here:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s