#Rohrer: FWB 5th, Pace 9th; Area Brings Back 3 Titles

HOOVER, AL — If it’s January, the second Saturday or so, it’s time for a couple of Panhandle-area teams to make the trek to the Scott Rohrer Memorial Invitational, hosted by Hoover HS across the state line.

This year, two teams made the trek, with Ft Walton Beach placing fifth and Pace ninth in the 16-team event. The Vikings had 418 points, while the Patriots finished with 366.5.

Four Alabama teams — Gardendale (523), McAdory (490.5), Smiths Station (480.5) and Oak Mountain (445.5) — rounded out the top four. Only one team from Louisiana, along with the two Florida groups, were not from within Alabama borders.

Below follows top-six individual efforts from the Vikings and Patriots, where applicable:

106: Pace’s Alex Mendez was third overall. Mendez bonus-pointed through Pool B, with four pins and an 18-6 major. In the championship bracket, Mendez falled Jasper in the quarters but then fell to the eventual runnerup from Gardendale, 8-4, in the semis. Mendez then decisioned Smiths Station, 9-2, in the third-place match.

113: FWB’s Zak Vosburgh was sixth overall. Vosburgh won Pool D with two pins and a 13-8 decision, with a championship-flight loss by fall in the quarters. After a 12-8 consi-semi win over McAdory, Vosburgh took a 5-4 loss to Hoover to claim sixth.

138: The Patriots’ Maeson Otwell finished fifth overall. Otwell was 4-1 to take second in Pool C, with two pins, a major and decision. After a loss by tech fall to an unbeaten Gardendale defending state champ in the quarters, Otwell had a 9-0 major and then pinned Thompson in 39 seconds for fifth.

145: The Vikings’ Steven Banfield took sixth overall. Banfield won Pool D with three pins, an injury-default win and major, but lost by a 10-8 count in the championship-flight quarters to the eventual 3rd from Jasper. Banfield won by medical forfeit in the consis, but then fell to Catholic LA, 9-0, in the fifth-place match.

152: FWB’s Alexander Davidson won the title and Pace’s Jordan Baxter was fifth. Davidson won Pool D behind two pins and three decisions, racking up three more in Saturday’s championship flight, with wins over McAdory (3-0, quarters), Central (Phenix City) (4-2, semis) and a 5-2 win over Hoover’s Liam Harrell in the final. A pair of takedowns (one in 2nd period, one in 3rd) helped stake that lead and championship win. For his own part, Baxter was 4-1 with four pins to take second in Pool B; after a quarterfinal 15-10 loss to Harrell, Baxter had two pins to wrestle back to fifth, pinning McAdory in 3:30 in the place match, where he earned a measure of revenge for his pool loss.

160: The Patriots’ Atticus Waters won the title and the Vikings’ Marquis Muniz and Connor Roberts were fourth and fifth, respectively. Waters took Pool A with four pins in 5:18. In the championship flight, he bookended a 7-3 semifinal win over Catholic LA with pins over Central (Phenix City) (:53, quarters) and a third-period fall (4:40) over Tuscaloosa County’s Kurtis Taylor to claim Pace’s only bracket win of the weekend. Muniz had three pins & decision to win Pool C, and had a 7-0 quarterfinal win over Roberts, but then lost by fall (5:31) to Taylor in the semis and by a 9-6 count to Catholic in the third-place match. Roberts lost his first Pool D match, but rallied for second behind three pins. In the consi side of the championship flight, Roberts took two pins, falling Central (Phenix City) in 3:06 for fifth.

170: FWB’s Darius Brundidge was sixth overall. Brundidge was 2-1 with two pins for second in Pool C, losing to the eventual 4th. After a 17-5 loss in the championship quarters to the eventual title winner, Brundidge won by pin over Hoover in the consi semis, then fell 10-3 to Oak Mountain to take sixth.

182: The Vikings’ Carter Tobik was fourth and Pace’s Isaac Waters fifth overall. Both were in Pool C, which Tobik won with a pin & 2 decisions, including a 1-0 win over Waters, who was second with a pin and tech. In the championship flight, Tobik opened with a 6-0 win over Vestavia Hills in the quarters, but then had losses by fall to the eventual runnerup from McAdory and in the third-place match to Smiths Station (1:58). Waters lost by fall in the quarters to the eventual champ from Gardendale, but then had a forfeit and pin over Vestavia Hills to grab fifth.

195: The Patriots’ Aidan Bryan was third overall. Bryan won Pool B with two pins, and advanced with a medical forfeit into the semis, where he fell, 5-2, to the Smiths Station runnerup. Bryan bounced back with a 7-5 win for third over a second Smiths Station wrestler.

220: FWB’s Cedric Fairrow won the Vikings’ second title, while Pace’s Hale Wood was third overall. Fairrow pinned his way through Pool B, going 3-0 on Friday. In the championship flight, Fairrow added two more pins over Tuscaloosa County (3:01, quarters) and over Wood (5:38, semis) to get to the final against Smiths Station’s Kyle Watson. There, Fairrow secured a takedown with 10 seconds left and made it hold up for a 3-2 decision and the championship. Wood won Pool C, likewise pinning his way through to a 3-0 day, with an 8-3 win in the championship quarters. After the loss to Fairrow, Wood bounced back with a fall over Catholic (3:40) to grab third.

285: The Vikings’ Spencer Mackenzie was fifth overall. McKenzie was 2-1 with two pins to take second in Pool B, with a 4-0 loss to the eventual 4th in the championship quarters. From there, though, Mackenzie had a 5-2 win in the consi semis and finished with a fall (3:05) over Gardendale in order to finish fifth.

Complete brackets from the tournament can be found HERE.

MISSING: If you’re reading these recaps and you see that your team isn’t being written about as we go through the middle third of the regular season, it’s due to results gone missing. Go to our SCHEDULES page; if your team is listed as PENDING for a given event on a given day, I didn’t get results. I’ll still take them, at any time; coaches all have my work email.

JOIN us on Facebook at North Florida Matmen (you can also friend me on my personal page) or on Twitter at @NorthFLAMatmen, or on Instagram at nflamatmen.
32 teams drop to an Elite Eight in seven classes in Georgia, with state dual prelims this coming weekend! Check out the latest on our affiliated site at
Please support our independent journalism!
We’re on Venmo now: Shannon-Heaton-6
Or if you prefer PayPal, search me at Shannon Heaton (use the site email account to find the correct me).

One reply on “#Rohrer: FWB 5th, Pace 9th; Area Brings Back 3 Titles”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s