#Viper: DeLand 2nd; Four Area Champions Crowned

COCOA — Fresh off a 3A-Region 1 semifinal duals appearance, DeLand kept up its solid momentum over the weekend at Space Coast, taking second in the 11-team Viper Classic.

The Bulldogs stood toe-to-toe with host Space Coast, falling short by a — for the team points amassed — tiny measure, with 438.5 points to the Vipers’ 449.5.

Lyman, with 195 points, was sixth, while Seabreeze was eighth with 168.

Below follows a summary of top-six performances within the coverage area:

106: DeLand’s Victor Hopton was fourth and Seabreeze’s William Sites fifth in a full eight-person roundrobin. Hopton was 4-3 on the weekend, with four pins, while Sites was 3-4, with two pins and a decision.

120: The Bulldogs’ Phoenix Krauth was fourth in a nine-person roundrobin. Krauth was 5-3 over the course of the weekend, with all victories coming via fall.

126: Seabreeze’s Wyatt Sites placed third, Lyman’s Allyn Rosario fourth and DeLand’s Kellen Chapman was sixth. Sites was 5-2, with a pin, major, decision and two forfeits, while Rosario was 4-3, with a pin, decision and two forfeits. Chapman was 2-0 with two pins, before what was listed as forfeiting out of further competition.

132: Seabreeze’s Joseph Kent won the weight class with a 7-0 record, while DeLand’s Joshua Folsom was third and Lyman’s Cameron Popeck fourth. Kent had pins over two Space Coast wrestlers, Popeck (:15), Cocoa, Folsom (1:21) and Tenoroc, finding a takedown in sudden victory for a 13-11 decision in round 5 over Viera’s Nate Olson, in what was effectively the championship match. Folsom was 5-2, with four pins and a second-period TF, while Popeck was 4-3 after an 0-3 start through three rounds, with a pin, two techs and a decision.

138: Lyman’s Cameron Warner and DeLand’s Mathias Franz were 1-2 in the weight class, while Seabreeze’s Antonio Serrano was sixth in a nine-person roundrobin. Warner and Franz were each 7-1 on the weekend, with Warner pinning Franz (round 3) in 2:52 in the effective championship match. Warner finished the weekend with six pins and a major, while Franz had seven pins. Serrano was 4-4 on the weekend, with three pins and a win by disqualification.

145: DeLand’s Lane Wishart won the weight class and Seabreeze’s Hayden Herndon finished third in an eight-person roundrobin. Wishart was 7-0 and had pins over two Titusville wrestlers, Bayside and Viera, with a 14-4 major over Herndon, a forfeit and a 6-4 win in round 4 over Space Coast’s Caeden Hadry in the effective title match. Herndon was 5-2 with three pins, a forfeit and a decision.

152: Seabreeze’s Tyler Herndon was third, DeLand’s Zane Canada fourth and Lyman’s Angel Ortiz-Corral sixth. Herndon finished the nine-person roundrobin, after a 1-2 start, at 5-3 with five pins, while Canada was 5-3 with four pins and a medical forfeit. Ortiz-Corral finished the weekend at 3-5, with three pins.

160: Lyman’s Vincent Savelli and DeLand’s Noah Falk went 1-2, respectively, in a nine-person roundrobin. Savelli was 8-0, with six pins, a forfeit, and had a 17-6 major decision over Falk in round 8, in what was effectively the title match. Falk finished at 7-1, with four pins, two decisions and a forfeit to claim second.

170: DeLand’s Paul Derosby was second in a nine-person roundrobin, with a loss by fall (1:22) in round 2 to Space Coast’s Allen Wasmund in the effective championship match. Outside of that, Derosby was 7-1, with a forfeit and six first-period falls.

182: Lyman’s Haiden Williams-Marchetti took second and DeLand’s Gavin Rodriguez-Cayro was fifth. Williams-Marchetti had a 5-2 weekend record, with four pins and a forfeit, while Rodriguez-Cayro was 3-0 with three pins (including one over Williams-Marchetti in round 1); after that, he was listed as forfeiting out of further competition.

195: DeLand’s Andrew Knowles was second in a seven-person roundrobin. Knowles finished the tournament at 5-1, with four pins and a forfeit, losing by fall (4:36) in round 4 to Space Coast’s Jaydon Sheely in the effective championship match.

220: DeLand’s Marion Smokes was 5-2 and placed second in an eight-person roundrobin. After losses in the first two rounds, Smokes max-pointed the rest of the way, with three pins and two forfeit victories.

285: The Bulldogs’ Marco Selph won the title in an eight-person roundrobin. Selph pinned his way through the weekend, only having to go past the first period once in a 7-0 tournament, with seven pins in 7:45 over wrestlers from Viera, Cocoa, two from Tenoroc, two from Astronaut, and Lincoln Park’s Tyrrell Haggins, whom Selph pinned in 3:48 in the final round for the effective championship match.

Complete results from the roundrobin event can be found HERE.

MISSING: We have a lot of missing results, from several teams around the coverage area, and we need YOUR help to clean that up. Please check out our SCHEDULE PAGE; if your school is listed as pending, or an event in which you took part is pending, see if your coach can send in your team’s part of that event. We will post results at any time of year, no matter how late they are when they are sent.

JOIN us on Facebook at North Florida Matmen (you can also friend me on my personal page) or on Twitter at @NorthFLAMatmen, or on Instagram at nflamatmen.
We have 12 teams to follow at state duals! Seven sites will contest the GHSA state team dual tournament this Saturday. Coming down to the homestretch. Check out the latest on our affiliated site at
Please support our independent journalism!
We’re on Venmo now: Shannon-Heaton-6
Or if you prefer PayPal, search me at Shannon Heaton (use the site email account to find the correct me).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s