#Preview: 37th Flagler Rotary Tournament

By MATMEN, Friday, 12:50 a.m.

37th Annual Flagler Rotary Tournament

When & where: Friday & Saturday at Flagler Palm Coast.
Teams in the field: In addition to the host Bulldogs, in-area teams include: Apopka, Bartram Trail, Bay, Bishop Kenny, Bolles, Creekside, DeLand, Deltona, Fletcher, Forest, Gulf Breeze, Lake Brantley, Lake Howell, Lyman, Matanzas, Nease, Oakleaf, Palatka, Ponte Vedra, Ridgeview, Sandalwood, St Augustine, St Johns Country Day, Terry Parker, University (Orange City), West Port (Fleming Island is also listed as attending, but the Golden Eagles are planning to go to Palmetto Ridge and the Colby Singletary Memorial IBT).
Out-of-area teams include: Citrus, Harmony, Newsome, Winter Springs.
Defending champion: Winter Springs.
Returning individual champions: Derrick Williams (Bay); Ethan Vugman (Bartram Trail); Rey Ortiz (Harmony); Elijah Penton (Winter Springs).
Synopsis: It might be easier for Winter Springs to defend its title this year than it was for the Bears to win it last year, as neither runnerup Ft Pierce Central nor third-place Fleming Island is set to return and the host Bulldogs, while they have three potential championship chances, do not have the same team depth that they had last year. I look for DeLand and Harmony to be the top challengers for Winter Springs this year, and Bartram Trail, Creekside, Fletcher, Gulf Breeze and possibly Oakleaf could all be in the mix for top-3 to top-5 status.
We are expecting girls’ competition once again, this year, but girls brackets tend to be folded into the JV competition on Trackwrestling and a separate list of teams that are sending girls’ contingents has not been made available by the host at time of this publication.
State-ranked wrestlers (listed by weight class in ranked order) —
106: Timothy McLean (Matanzas, 2A-3rd); Garrett Ferguson (Gulf Breeze, 2A-8th); Matthew Braddock (St Johns Country Day, 1A-9th); Tristan Horn (Harmony, 3A-14th); Alexavier Panganiban (Creekside, 3A-15th); Landon Locantora (Fletcher, 3A-20th).
113: Derrick Williams (Bay, 1A-1st); Aiden Macken (Gulf Breeze, 2A-9th); Angel Rodriguez (Oakleaf, 2A-11th); Kaden Golder (Matanzas, 2A-13th); Landon Davis (Harmony, 3A-15th).
120: Ayden Ruano (Forest, 3A-9th); Phoenix Krauth (DeLand, 3A-10th); Justin Umali (Creekside, 3A-14th); Coby Shields (Gulf Breeze, 2A-16th); Tanner Hinman (Harmony, 3A-17th); Leonardo Sanchez (Bay, 1A-20th).
126: Ethan Vugman (Bartram Trail, 3A-1st); Cole O’Brien (Fletcher, 3A-4th); Toryion Stallings (Matanzas, 2A-10th); Dario Duany (Lake Brantley, 3A-16th).
132: Ryan Phillips (Winter Springs, 2A-1st); Rey Ortiz (Harmony, 3A-4th); Kevin Kerns (Deltona, 2A-6th); Nate Weber (Gulf Breeze, 2A-12th); Kole Hannant (Flagler Palm Coast, 3A-13th); Keon Barrientos (Oakleaf, 2A-15th); Ishmael Foster (Palatka, 1A-16th).
138: Mikade Harvey (Palatka, 1A-2nd); Shawn McCallister (Harmony, 3A-4th); Tamarion Kendrick (Apopka, 3A-5th), John Hald (Flagler Palm Coast, 3A-10th); Parker Stamschror (Nease, 3A-14th); Kyle Yasses (Deltona, 2A-14th); Conner Wright (Creekside, 3A-15th); Kellen Chapman (DeLand, 3A-16th).
145: Jeremy Gradford (Newsome, 3A-6th); Carson Estrada (Harmony, 3A-7th); Giovanni Duany (Lake Brantley, 3A-11th); Jeff Brown (Terry Parker, 2A-15th); Joshua Folsom (DeLand, 3A-17th).
152: Roberto Cuartero (Bishop Kenny, 1A-2nd); Colson Elliott (Gulf Breeze, 2A-7th); Dylan Parkinson (Matanzas, 2A-10th); Mathias Franz (DeLand, 3A-12th); Preston Pena (Bartram Trail, 3A-15th).
160: Ransom Randolph (Winter Springs, 2A-4th); Josh Daltro (Fletcher, 3A-5th); Antonio Falotico (Harmony, 3A-8th); Jacob Lutz (Nease, 3A-10th); Zane Canada (DeLand, 3A-18th); Roman Polinsky (Oakleaf, 2A-18th).
170: Elijah Penton (WInter Springs, 2A-1st); Luke Ghannam (Bishop Kenny, 1A-14th); Alan Rivera (Nease, 3A-18th); Bryant Taylor (Oakleaf, 2A-19th); Landon Wright (Matanzas, 2A-20th).
182: Jordan Mills (Matanzas, 2A-2nd); John McNames (Bartram Trail, 3A-9th); Gavin Rodriguez-Cayro (DeLand, 3A-10th); Edwardo Brugal (Winter Springs, 2A-10th); Collin Hearn (Bishop Kenny, 1A-10th); Malachi Mista (Sandalwood, 3A-18th).
195: Peyton Turner (Newsome, 3A-2nd); Duffy Mista (Sandalwood, 3A-3rd); Isaiah Shevchook (Oakleaf, 2A-5th); Dalton Schell (Flagler Palm Coast, 3A-8th); Aiden Gatton (Winter Springs, 2A-9th); Jayden Velazquez (Lake Howell, 3A-16th); Rayhn Hutchinson (Ridgeview, 2A-20th).
220: Shane Armstrong (Bartram Trail, 3A-5th); Joshua Maldonado (Winter Springs, 2A-18th).
285: Nelson Toro (Harmony, 3A-1st); Toby Matson (Fletcher, 3A-2nd); MJ Smokes (DeLand, 3A-7th); Cane Fernandez (Forest, 3A-9th); Jacob George (Bartram Trail, 3A-10th); Brandon Hall (Newsome, 3A-18th); Nathan Hatch (Deltona, 2A-18th).
All rankings from

JOIN us on Facebook at North Florida Matmen (you can also friend me on my personal page) or on Twitter at @NorthFLAMatmen, or on Instagram at nflamatmen. Please support our independent journalism! We’re on Venmo now: Shannon-Heaton-6. Or if you prefer PayPal, search me at Shannon Heaton (use the site email account to find the correct me).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s